Our Story

The Marketing Association for Credit Unions (MACU) began in 1988 – an exciting year for Canada and for Canada’s credit unions.

It was the year of the Calgary winter Olympics where the spotlight was on the west. That same year, MACU was formed and 58 Credit union marketers came together to exchange ideas at the very first MACU conference in Vancouver.

24 years later, CU marketers from coast to coast attend the annual conference, exchange ideas with their peers and learn from industry leaders and each other.

The conference is a highlight for marketers and the MACU board as it strives to increase its value, relevance and networking opportunities each year. The conference has been held in cities across Canada from Whistler to Banff, Quebec City to Halifax.

MACU’s Board of Directors is comprised of credit union professionals with a limited number of positions for CU suppliers. If you are interested in serving on the MACU board, please email here. We are always recruiting!

The Board

 

Shawna Miller, Chair

Vice President, Marketing - Affinity Credit Union
Tel: 306-946-3522
Email: Shawna.Miller@Affinitycu.ca
 

Vanessa Foster, Director

Director, Marketing - Sunova Credit Union
Tel: 204-785-7627
Email: vfoster@sunovacu.ca
 

Deanie Foley Gillespie, Director

Marketing Manager - SASCU Financial Group
Tel: 250.833.1343
Email: deaniefg@sascu.com
 

Gwendolyn de Guzman, Director

Senior Director, Partnerships Montreal - Desjardins
Tel: 514-350-8700 x2006
Email: Gwendolyn.DeGuzman@desjga.com
 

Alanna Dyani, Director

Manager, Marketing, Central 1 Credit Union
Tel: 604-730-6336
Email: adyani@central1.com
 

Mike Goerzen, Director

AVP Marketing, SCoastal Community Credit Union
Tel: 250.741.3270
Email: mike.goerzen@cccu.ca

Tracy Kelly, Director

Vice President, Marketing, Mountain View Credit Union Limited
Tel:403-556-3306
Email: tracy.kelly@mvcu.ca

Deanna Basso, Director

HMECU
Tel: 905-526-7244 x 15
Email:Deanna.Basso@HMECU.com
 

Liisa Woolley, Director

Director of Sales, Eastern Region, Northern Credit Union
Tel:705-253-9868
Email: Liisa.Woolley@northerncu.com
 

Nicole Laven, Director

Manager - Communication, Marketing, and Community Relations, Sydenham Community Credit Union
Tel: 519-641-5258
Email: nlaven@sydenhamccu.ca
 

Kate Neff, Director

VP, Member Services and Marketing, Your Neighbourhood Credit Union
Tel:519.804.9190 ext. 637
Email: kneff@yncu.com